This is the "Home" page of the "Traveler Assistance Guide 10/14/16" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Traveler Assistance Guide 10/14/16  

Background information of the Traveler Portal -- registrations, training, promotion, handouts and more
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.arkansas.gov/TravelerAssistanceGuide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

     Traveler provides free research/reference databases to all Arkansas citizens. This LibGuide provides information for librarians who are members of the Traveler Database Project.

Visitors will find background information as well as information and materials to help learn about the databases included in Traveler.  Matierals include links for training, promotion, handouts and more.

Contact

Lynn Valetutti  501-682-2840
lynn@library.arkansas.gov

 

Traveler Registration

Who registers?  
All academic, public, schoola and special libraries in Arkansas should register. 

Why?  Registration using public IP numbers allows for seamless access from the library or school locations. Without a current registration the user will be prompted for IDs, or passwords with each search.

When?   Deadline dates - 2016: Sept.12, Nov. 14; 2017: Jan. 9, March 13, May 15, July 10

Basic registration information includes the following: Name of library, contact person, contact e-mail, address, phone #, and public IP number range.

Note: Academic, public & special libraries have one form and school libraries have a separate form.  
The form for elementary & secondary schools includes the contact for the IT personnel and schools sites included in the registration when registering school districts.

Static, public IP numbers must be used because a consistent, unique number is necessary for authentication.
Private IP are not unique.  DO NOT use any number with these sequences - 10.xxx.xxx.xxx, 172.16.xxx.xxx or 192.168.xxx.xxx. 
They can't be used because they are generic and any library can be using them.

 

Access

Traveler Portal  http://www.library.arkansas.gov/traveler   
Seamless, uninterrupted access from registered libraries

Remote Access log-in:  city, zip code and phone #

Traveler Databases are provided to all libraries, academic, public, school and special, at no charge.  Funding for Traveler is provided by the Institute for Museum and Library Services/LSTA funds (84%) and the Arkansas Department of Education (16%).

The subscription runs from August 1 to July 31 each year.  The libraries register with the Arkansas State Library so the users and library staff will have seamless access from the library. 

Any Arkansas resident is welcome to use the databases from home, office or while traveling.  Approximately a third of the libraries have funds to purchase additional databases.  Residents should check with the library in their area to see if the library is using the Traveler Portal or using library card numbers or student IDs to authenticate users through the library's web site.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip