This is the "Home" page of the "Information about United States Patents " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information about United States Patents  

A resource to provide information about United States Patents and the patenting process. This includes providing links for patent searching.
Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.arkansas.gov/content.php?pid=564204 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Patent Searching on the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Databases

Inventors are encouraged to search the USPTO’s patent databases to see if a patent has already been filed or granted that is similar to your patent. Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present. Click on the link below to search for a patent(s):

http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/search/index.jsp

Search and find patents online using official databases like Espacenet, the European Patent Register and the European Publication Server.

http://www.epo.org/searching.html

This patent search tool allows you not only to search the PCT database of about 2 million International Applications but also the worldwide patent collections.

http://patentscope.wipo.int/search/en/search.jsf

Google Patent Search



 

Seven Step Search Strategy

The Seven Steps in a Preliminary Search of U.S. Patents and Published Patent Applications

 

A Seven Step Strategy for conducting preliminary searches of U.S. patents and published applications using free online resources of the USPTO and the EPO (European Patent Office).  Patent and Trademark Centers (PTRCs) are available nationwide to provide training on this Seven Step Strategy.  Clink on the link below for more information.

http://www.uspto.gov/products/library/ptdl/services/step7.jsp

Seven Step Strategy Tutorial and Handout

 

Patent Tutorials: Which one is right for you?

Patent Searching on the Internet - For inventors, researchers, students and enthusiasts.

Patent Application Searching - For inventors and innovators.

Patent Statistics - Consider Patent Statistics if you are researching industries, companies and technology.

 

Used courtesy of McKinney Engineering Library, University of Texas

Patent & Trademark Offices

  • United States Patent & Trademark Office
    The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. The continued demand for patents and trademarks underscores the ingenuity of American inventors and entrepreneurs. The USPTO is at the cutting edge of the nation's technological progress and achievement.
  • Canadian Intellectual Property Office
    The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), a Special Operating Agency (SOA) associated with Industry Canada, is responsible for the administration and processing of the greater part of intellectual property in Canada. CIPO's areas of activity include patents, trademark, copyright, industrial design, and integrated circuit topographies.
  • European Patent Office
    As the patent office for Europe, it supports innovation, competitiveness and economic growth across Europe through its commitment to high quality and efficient services
    delivered under the European Patent Convention.
 

Arkansas' Only Patent Resource Center

The Arkansas State Library is designated a Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The only PTRC in Arkansas. The Library has access to patents from 1790 to the present and trademarks from 1955 to the present.  As a PTRC, The Arkansas State Library offers access to the following materials and services: 

  • Patent Search Assistance & Training Opportunities
  • Supplemental Reference Materials
  • Backfile Collections & Current Issues of Patents 
  • Official Gazette for Patents

Need more information? Our USPTO trained reference staff is happy to answer questions and provide training to inventors, businesses, attorneys and their staff or other interested persons with their U.S. patent issues.

 

From Our Collection

Cover Art
Patent It Yourself - David Pressman
Call Number: KF3144.6 .P75 2011
ISBN: 1413313825
Publication Date: 2011-05-04

Cover Art
Patent Drawings - Kendall S. Dood (Introduction by)
Call Number: T223 .U3 P37 1986
ISBN: 0911333479
Publication Date: 1986-01-01

Cover Art
Patent, Copyright and Trademark - Richard Stim
Call Number: KF2980 .E44 2012
ISBN: 9781413316803
Publication Date: 2012-04-16

Cover Art
License your invention - Stim, Richard
Call Number: KF3145 .Z9 S75 2004
ISBN: 1413300561
Publication Date: 2004


Cover Art
How to make patent drawings : a patent it yourself companion - Lo, Jack
Call Number: T223 .U3 L6 2011
ISBN: 9781413312577
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
The intellectual property and you series - Khoury, Amir H
Call Number: C 21.14/2:IN 8/4/BK.1/CORR
Publication Date: [2010?]

Cover Art
The patent writer : how to write successful patent applications - DeMatteis, Bob
Call Number: KF3120 .Z9 D46 2006
ISBN: 0757001769
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Patent searching : tools & techniques - Hunt, David
Call Number: T210 .H86 2007
ISBN: 9780471783794
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
The design search code manual - Patent Depository Library Program (U.S.)
Call Number: C 21.2:T 67XD/2006
Publication Date: 2006-

 

Arkansas State Library Patent Conference, Day 1

 

Arkansas State Library Patent Conference, Day 2

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael Strickland, Information Services Manager at the Arkansas State Library
 

Happening Now

 

Contact Us!

ask us icon Ask Us:
Ask a Librarian
email icon Email Us:
reference@library.arkansas.gov
phone icon Call Us:
501.682.2053
fax icon Fax Us:
501.682.1529
Twitter icon Follow Us:
@ArStateLibrary
Facebook icon Friend Us:
Arkansas State Library, Information Services
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip