The conditions for Interlibrary Loan service at ASL are set by the following:
- AMIGOS Resource Sharing Agreement
- Arkansas Interlibrary Loan Code
- Individual regulations of the lending libraries
- Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States
- International Lending and Document Delivery: Principles and Guidelines for Procedure
- United States Copyright Guidelines (CCG) and Copyright Law (CCL)regarding library reproduction of copyrighted works (17 USC 108)
ILL Policies links
The Arkansas State Library accepts ILL requests from public, college, university, and special libraries, as well as requests for work-related materials for Arkansas state employees.
Requests may be made in person, over the phone, or with our online forms.
The Arkansas State Library accepts ILL requests from public, college, university, and special libraries, as well as requests for work-related materials for full-time permanent Arkansas state employees.
Requests are accepted via OCLC, ALA forms, telephone, mail, fax, ARIEL, or online.
Arkansas State Employees
Full-time permanent state employees may request materials through ILL. State employees' requests must be directly related to their state jobs, and not to personal research, academic classwork, or extracurricular activities.
Original materials will not be sent through mail or courier to state employees, but must be picked up in person. Photocopies will be sent via mail, fax, or email. Photocopied materials may not exceed 50 pages in length.
General Public & Schools
Individuals, school librarians, or students may go through the ILL department of the library of their choice to request materials from the State Library.
The Arkansas State Library will lend:
- General circulating materials for 4 weeks, with renewals for 2 weeks. Renewal requests must be made before the item's due date.
- Government Documents for 2 to 4 weeks with prior approval of ASL Reference staff. Microfiche documents are not loaned, but paper or fiche copies may be made.
- Arkansas Documents and Arkansas Collection materials for 2 to 4 weeks, but only if more than one copy of the item is on the shelf. According to Arkansas law, Copy 1 of items in these collections must stay on the shelf.
- Audio and Video CDs, DVDs, VHS tapes for 2 to 4 weeks
Although newspapers are are non-circulating, photocopies of specific articles up to 50 pages in length may be requested. Newspapers are retained for three months, with the exception of the Arkansas Gazette, which is maintained on microfilm from 1871 through 1991.The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is retained from 1991 to present.
United States Patent copies will be provided if the patent number is known. For information regarding patent-searching, contact the Reference Department.
Fines & Overdues
The Arkansas State Library does not charge for lending materials, making photocopies, or the cost of postage. All photocopied materials are limited to no more than 50 pages.
If the borrowing patron/library loses an item, ILL will send an invoice for the current price of replacing the lost material. If the item is out-of-print, the invoice price will be determined by Collection Development.
Overdue notices for items loaned through ILL are sent 2 weeks after items are due. If the borrower has not responded after the second notice, an invoice for the material will be sent.
The Arkansas State Library does not charge overdue fines, but a patron or library may lose borrowing privileges due to repeated late returns or loss of materials.
Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions
Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction.
One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
Periodical Articles Guidelines developed by the National Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyrighted Works (CONTU) specify that, during one calendar year, no more than five copies may be received from any one work whose publication date is within five years of the date of the patron's request.
Sections of Books Chapters or sections of books may be copied if the library does not receive more than five requests for copies from the same work from any individual library, during a calendar year.
Entire Works Libraries may copy an entire work if the library determines that another copy is not available or cannot be obtained at a fair price "Fair price" is not precisely defined. The copy of the work becomes the property of the user for private study, scholarship, or research only.
Retention of Request Forms CONTU Guidelines require libraries to retain the current calendar year's records of filled requests for copies or reproductions, plus the records of filled requests for the previous three calendar years. This requirement only applies to requests for copies or reproductions and not to loan requests.
Electronic Resource Licensing and Interlibrary Loan
Increasingly, copies are provided from electronic resources. Because many of these electronic products are licensed and not owned by the library, uses for interlibrary loan activity may be prohibited by the license agreement.