This is the "Library Science Research and Resources" page of the "Professional Librarians Guide - Jobs, Degrees, Continuing Education, Research & Professional Organizations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Professional Librarians Guide - Jobs, Degrees, Continuing Education, Research & Professional Organizations  

Reviews information needed for Arkansas residents to get either an ALA Accredited MLS or NCATE and AASL accreditation for school librarianship. Included are scholarship opportunities and research options.
Last Updated: Jul 5, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.arkansas.gov/PLG1 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Science Research and Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Science Professional Collection

Library Science Professional Collection 

The Arkansas State Library maintains one of the largest library studies collections in the state. The collection includes books, print journals, online databases and other materials. Librarians, library staffs, and students working on an MLS or Media Specialist degrees are the primary users.

The Library Science Professional Collection has approximately 2,000 items that can be searched in the online catalog,
www.library.arkansas.gov . Interlibrary loans requests can be made from public and academic libraries around the state for those that do not have an ASL library card.


The collection is located on the second floor of the library at 900 W. Capitol Ave., Little Rock, AR 72201.

Library hours are 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM  Monday through Friday (Closed weekends and state holidays).

If you have questions or need more information call us at 501-682-2053.

http://www.library.arkansas.gov/services/InterlibraryLoan/Pages/LibraryILLForm.aspx  ILL form for OCLC member libraries

Online Resources

Databases available to state employees and at the library:

  • BooksInPrint (Bowker's) (limited to 2 concurrent users)
  • Book Review Digest Plus (Wilson Web)
  • Book Review Digest Retro (Wilson Web)
  • Communications and Mass Media Collection (Gale)
  • Guide to Reference
  • Information Science and Technology Collection (Gale)
  • Journal of the American Society for Information Science
  • Public Libraries Core (Wilson Web)
  • Reference Universe
  • Resources for College Libraries
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch)

 Questions or need more information, call us at 501-682-2053

      

    Print Resources

    For the full list of Library Science resources at the Arkansas State Library go to our Online Catalog and search under the heading "Library Science."  Or click hereto search our Online Catalog.

     

    Questions or need information, call us at 501-682-2053. 

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip